Delete My Kinsta Account

We understand there are some cases where you may need to cancel your Kinsta plan or delete your Kinsta account. Maybe you wanted to test Kinsta out or no longer need your site or application. Whatever the reason, this article outlines how you can remove your sites and applications and ultimately delete your Kinsta account.

Delete Sites, Applications, and Databases

WordPress Sites

When you delete a WordPress site, all of its data is destroyed and not recoverable; therefore, we recommend creating a backup of your site before you delete it. Deleting a site also removes the following add-ons:

It does not remove the Redis, Nginx, PHP Memory Limit, or Disk Space add-ons; these are only removed if you cancel your WordPress Plan. If you want to remove any of these add-ons without canceling your plan, please get in touch with the Account Management team via the live chat in MyKinsta Dashboard or e-mail us at [email protected].

To delete a WordPress site, click WordPress Sites > site nameDelete Site. You must accept the prompts that the files and database for your live site and staging sites will be destroyed, enter your site’s name followed by -live, and click Delete site. 

This removes the site and creates an open slot in your WordPress plan to create a new site. If you don’t want to continue with your WordPress plan, you can cancel your WordPress plan.

Applications

When you delete an application, it completely removes the following:

  • All files
  • Settings
  • Persistent storage disks
  • Connections to other applications or databases.

To delete an application, click Applications > app name > Settings > Delete application, enter the application name, and click Delete application.

Unlike WordPress Hosting, application pricing is usage-based; therefore, you do not need to cancel a plan; you simply pay for the time used at the end of your billing cycle.

Databases

When you delete a database, all of the data in the database is destroyed. It also removes any disk space add-ons attached to the database.

To delete a database, click Databases > database name > Settings > Delete database > enter the database name, and click Delete database.

Unlike WordPress Hosting, database pricing is usage-based; therefore, you do not need to cancel a plan; you simply pay for the time used at the end of your billing cycle. 

Static Sites

When you delete a static site, it completely removes all of the associated files and settings. You cannot recover a site in MyKinsta once it is deleted.

To delete a static site, click Static Sites > site name > Settings > Delete site, enter the site name, and click Delete site.

Cancel your WordPress Plan

Canceling your WordPress plan removes any add-ons linked to the WordPress sites or plan. For detailed steps on canceling your WordPress plan, refer to Cancel WordPress Plan.

  1. To cancel your WordPress plan, click on your name > Company settings > My Plan > Cancel plan.
  2. You must accept the prompts that all of your live and staging environments, DNS records, CDN configurations, and settings in MyKinsta will be deleted and click Next.
  3. Your final bill is automatically calculated, click Next, enter your MyKinsta password, and click Cancel plan.

After cancelation, you can still access MyKinsta and can choose to add a new plan if required. If you want to remove your company or user account, you must open a chat with Kinsta’s Support Team.

Delete Your Company

The company can only be deleted if it has no active plans or subscriptions. You must ensure you delete your sites, applications, or databases, cancel any WordPress plans, and clear any outstanding invoice balances before you can request a company deletion.

To delete your company from MyKinsta, you must log in as the Company Owner and open a chat with our Support Team. You must confirm if you want to remove a specific company or if you want to delete all of your data, including your user, from MyKinsta.

If you want to transfer the company to another user, refer to Transfer Ownership.

Delete Your MyKinsta User

You cannot remove your MyKinsta user account if you are a Company Owner with active plans or subscriptions. You must ensure you delete your sites, applications, or databases, cancel any WordPress plans, and clear any outstanding invoice balances for the company before you can request a user deletion. If you want to transfer the company to another user, refer to Transfer Ownership

To delete your MyKinsta user account, open a chat with our Support Team.

Was this article helpful?