With Kinsta’s site transfer tool, we’ve made it as easy as possible to move a site from your company account to another company.

There are several reasons why you may need to transfer a site to another company:

  1. You’re a WordPress agency that needs to hand off a site to a client’s personal Kinsta account.
  2. You’re a business owner who wants to transfer a site to a WordPress management company for routine maintenance.
  3. You’re moving on to another project and want to transfer your site to a third party.

To transfer any sites under your company in MyKinsta to another company’s account, follow the steps below.

Prefer to watch the video version?

Step 1 – Find the Company ID of the Destination Company

In order to transfer a site to another company in MyKinsta, you must be a company owner or company administrator. To start the transfer process, find the company ID of the destination company. The company ID can be found in MyKinsta under Company > Billing Details > Kinsta Company ID.

Kinsta Company ID in the MyKinsta dashboard.
Kinsta Company ID in the MyKinsta dashboard.

If you do not have MyKinsta access to the destination company, you’ll need to get in touch with the company directly to get the company ID.

Step 2 – Initiate the Site Transfer as the Source Company

The next step is to initiate the site transfer (both live and staging site environments) from the source company, which is your company.

To do this, navigate to Sites > Info in MyKinsta and click the Transfer site button.

Click the Transfer site button to begin transferring your site to another company.
Click the Transfer site button to begin transferring your site to another company.

Next, paste the company ID of the destination company in the field labeled Kinsta company ID to transfer to.

If you’re using KinstaDNS for a domain assigned to the site being transferred, we recommend moving that as well. Under Transfer Kinsta DNS Domain in the modal/pop-up that appears, select the relevant domain(s) and click the Next button to proceed to the confirmation page.

Enter the destination company ID and select the Kinsta DNS domains to transfer.
Enter the destination company ID and select the Kinsta DNS domains to transfer.

To confirm the site transfer, type the site name and click the Transfer site button.

Click the Transfer site button to confirm your site transfer.
Click the Transfer site button to confirm your site transfer.

Next, the destination company will have to confirm the site transfer. In your Kinsta account (the source company), the site will appear as Pending transfer for the company owner and company administrator(s).

A site pending transfer to another company in MyKinsta.
A site pending transfer to another company in MyKinsta.

Note: Until the destination company accepts the site transfer, you can revoke the transfer in Sites > Info.

Cancel a site transfer in MyKinsta.
Cancel a site transfer in MyKinsta.

Step 3 – Finalize the Site Transfer with the Destination Company

After you’ve initiated the site transfer, the company owner and company administrator(s) of the destination company will receive a notification email.

In the destination company’s MyKinsta account, the site being transferred will appear as an Incoming transfer.

Incoming site transfer in the destination company’s MyKinsta account.
Incoming site transfer in the destination company’s MyKinsta account.

Clicking on the Accept Transfer button in the notification email they receive will bring the company owner and company administrator(s) of the destination company — for example, one of your clients — to their MyKinsta dashboard.

To finalize the site transfer they should click on the Accept Transfer button in MyKinsta. If they do not want to accept your request, they can dismiss it by clicking on Reject Transfer instead.

Click Accept transfer to accept the incoming site.
Click Accept transfer to accept the incoming site.

If the destination company’s plan does not have enough sites or KinstaDNS slots to receive the incoming site, they’ll be prompted to upgrade their plan after accepting the transfer.

If they click Cancel without rejecting the transfer, they will still be able to accept it within 72 hours.

A plan upgrade may be needed to accommodate a site transfer.
A plan upgrade may be needed to accommodate a site transfer.

After the site transfer is accepted, you (the source company’s owner) and any company administrator(s) — will receive a notification email.

If you need to transfer ownership of your entire company, not just a single site, check out our guide on how to transfer company ownership.