With our multi-user feature, you can create and manage a team, giving them access to various aspects of your websites, applications, or databases. We offer a number of roles to allow you to fine-tune user access. This article explains the various capabilities you can give to your users.

Company Ownership Role

There is a special role called the Company Owner. A Company Owner is always also a Company Administrator. There can only be one Company Owner per company.

A Company Owner is the only user in a company who can request an account closure. Apart from that, they are exactly like Company Administrators in day-to-day use.

It is possible to transfer ownership of a company to another Company Administrator. For more information, take a look at our guide on transferring company ownership.

Managed WordPress Hosting

When inviting or modifying a user, the first choice is to make the user company-level or site-level. Site-level users only have access to specific sites you assign to them, while company users see company-level details. There are 3 company-level and 2 site-level user roles to choose from, with various levels of access based on their role.

All user roles have access to Kinsta’s Support team, but we can only assist with sites your user role can access.

Company Administrator

Company Administrators have the highest level of access. They have complete control of all company and site data, including DNS in MyKinsta and migration requests. Only give Company Administrator access to users who you trust.

Company Developer

A Company Developer has access to manage all sites and DNS in MyKinsta and can manage site-level users. They can also delete sites that do not have a Premium Staging Environment add-on.  They do not see billing details, company settings, or migration requests. While a Company Developer can view the list of company users (including email addresses and roles), they cannot make any changes to company-level users.

Company Billing

A Company Billing user is a special role that only sees billing details and company settings. They can see invoices, enable automatic invoice emails, and modify company details like name and address. They do not have access to any websites or migrations in any way.

Site Administrator

Site Administrators have complete access to a site and have full control of all environments attached to that site. The only actions they are not permitted to do are removing a site from a company’s account, submitting or managing migration requests, accessing DNS in MyKinsta, or creating and deleting Premium Staging Environments. Note that a single user may be a Site Administrator for multiple sites.

Site Developer

Site Developers have access to the staging environments for a single site. They have control over the staging environments only and can perform most actions apart from removing the staging environment or pushing it to live. Note that a single user may be a Site Developer for multiple sites.

Site Developers do not have access to company-level or live environment analytics, user management, migrations, DNS in MyKinsta, or the company-level activity log in MyKinsta. They cannot create or delete Premium Staging Environments.

MyKinsta User Roles and Permissions Chart

The following chart provides more specific details about the capabilities each user role has.

Capability Company Owner Company Administrator Company Developer Company Billing Site Administrator Site Developer
Billing details/change plan Yes Yes No Yes No No
Cancel plan Yes No No No No No
Company settings Yes Yes No Yes No No
Company data Yes Yes No Yes No No
Manage all sites Yes Yes Yes No No No
Manage 1 site Yes Yes Yes No Yes No
Add or delete sites Yes Yes Yes* No No No
Delete Standard Staging Environment Yes Yes Yes No Yes Yes
Access Standard Staging Environment Yes Yes Yes No Yes Yes
Add or delete Premium Staging Environment Yes Yes No No No No
Access Premium Staging Environment Yes Yes No No Yes Yes
Live environment Yes Yes Yes* No No No
Push staging to live Yes Yes Yes No Yes No
Install or remove a paid addon Yes Yes No Yes No No
Approve ownership transfer of a site Yes Yes No No No No
Request paid malware cleanup** Yes Yes No No No No
Request a data center change Yes Yes Yes No Yes No
Request a site migration Yes Yes No No No No
Manage site labels Yes Yes Yes No Yes No
Request 2FA be disabled for other users in a company Yes No No No No No
DNS in MyKinsta Yes Yes Yes No No No

*Can delete a live environment if no Premium Staging Environment is attached to it.

**If the malware cleanup is free, any user can request it.

 

Application and Database Hosting

With Application Hosting and Database Hosting, you can choose between 3 company-level user roles with various levels of access based on their role.

All user roles have access to Kinsta’s Support team, but we can only assist with applications or databases your user role can access.

Company Administrator

Company Administrators have the highest level of access. They have complete control of all company details and application and database settings. Only give Company Administrator access to users who you trust.

Company Developer

Company Developers can access all application and database settings, including creating and deleting applications and databases.

Company Billing

A Company Billing user is a special role that only sees billing details and company settings. They can see invoices, enable automatic invoice emails, and modify company details like name and address. They do not have access to any applications or databases in any way.

MyKinsta User Roles and Permissions Chart

The following chart provides more specific details about the capabilities each user role has.

Capability Company Owner Company Administrator Company Developer Company Billing
Billing details/change plan Yes Yes No Yes
Add applications or databases Yes Yes Yes No
Manage applications or databases Yes Yes Yes No
Delete applications or databases Yes Yes Yes No